Tag Archives: COPE

Last Candidate Standing – candidate videos

last candidate standing poster - detail

Many of you who weren’t able to make it out the Last Candidate Standing event on November 6, 2011 have been asking us how it went. Thanks to the good folks at 3RDI, the work of our volunteer videographers has now received a quick edit and is online for your viewing pleasure.

Last Candidate Standing was produced by VPSN and UBC’sSchool ofArchitecture + Landscape Architecture, and held at UBC Robson Square Theatre. 30 candidates participated in the event – a mixture of folks running for either the Mayor’s job or a seat on Council. Participants from all the major parties were in attendance, as was a healthy assembly of independents. (We like to think that Last Candidate is one of the most inclusive election events around!)

Round One saw groups of three candidates randomly selected and invited to the stage by MC Steve Burgess. Candidates were then given a question by the Panel of Inquisition – Matthew Soules (UBC), Alissa Sadler (VPSN), David Beers (The Tyee) and Theresa Lalonde (CBC). The best two answers earned a pass to Round Two, where the process was repeated with groups of four. The number of contestants was reduced each subsequent round… until there was only Last Candidate remaining.

Curious to see candidates tackle interesting, off-the-wall questions? Take a look at the following clips from the event. These are the clips from Round One (all posted to YouTube). The rest will be linked as soon as we get ‘em.

Round 1, Set 1 – Geoff Meggs (Vision), Rick Orser (Ind.), Victor Paquette (Ind.)

Round 1, Set 2 – Dubgee (Ind.), Lauren Gill (RICH), Chris Masson (De-Growth)

Round 1, Set 3 – Michael Dharni (Ind.), Chris Shaw (De-Growth), Amy “Evil Genius” Fox (Ind.)

Round 1, Set 4 – Ken Charko (NPA), Randy Helten (NSV), Andrea Reimer (Vision)

Round 1, Set 5 – RJ Aquino (COPE), Joe Carangi (NPA), Aaron Spires (RICH)

Round 1, Set 6 – Menard Caissy (Ind.), Terry Martin (NSV), Darrell Zimmerman (Ind.)

Round 1, Set 7 – Golok Zoltan Buday (Ind.), Sean Bickerton (NPA), Sam Pelletier (Ind.)

Round 1, Group 8 – Ellen Woodsworth (COPE), George Affleck (NPA), Sandy Garossino (Ind.)

Round 1, Set 9 – Bill McCreery (NPA), Kerry Jang (Vision), Ian Gregson (De-Growth)

Round 1, Set 10 – Nicole Benson (NSV), Grant Fraser (Ind), Adrienne Carr (Green)